top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

B is for ...

Buskers! Melbourne is full of them. From singers to cellists, drummers, artists, hip hop dancers and jugglers, they can get permits to perform on the streets and get some major exposure while making a bit of money on the side. This very funky girl was selling home-printed CD's for $10 a pop and they were flying out of her guitar case as she beat-boxed, sang and played electric guitar like a total rock star.

While many people walk past without paying much attention to the buskers, some can really pull a crowd depending on where they are playing and how good they are. It made me think of Amanda Palmer's book, where she talks extensively about being a street performer, and the exchange that takes place between the artist and the person dropping a few coins into their hat.

What is particularly magical about all the buskers is that you can hear a lot of music when you are walking around in the city. On my days exploring the laneways and shops I have felt like a living embodiment of the phrase "she shall have music wherever she goes". It's really special.

I spent almost an hour listening to this guy when I accidentally forgot my house keys at home and had to wait for DocCoffee to finish a meeting before going home instead of being able to leave after doing some shopping. So I plonked myself down outside the State Library and listened to him play everything from Jason Mraz to Beyonce and Blackstreet. The little blonde girl danced for ages next to him, and loads of people dropped coins into his guitar case as well as mumbling a few words of encouragement as they walked past. During my time there many people sat in the sun on the grass and listened to him while they drank their take-away coffees or wrote in notebooks. It was wonderful, and a lovely way to pass the time.

One busker I would have loved to get a picture of was very shy, and even after I gave him some money he (politely) told me I couldn't photograph music and should rather just listen. What was so cool about him was that he was playing a violin but dressed in the lumo orange and navy blue of a "tradey", with the trademark dirty fingernails and general grubby appearance of someone who works with their hands. He is some kind of tradesman, and yet there he was, playing something lyrical and pretty on his violin. A beautiful contradiction. Once again showing me that you really can be all things in Melbourne.

I can totally see my talented friends and family memebrs strutting their stuff on the streets of Melbourne. It seems to be a fantastic way of getting yourself out there, as well as being paid to perfect your performance style. It's a win-win situation and generally the people of Melbourne seem be incredibly supportive of it. Another reason to love it here!


bottom of page